DWI Charges: 2nd Offense

The penalties for driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs in Texas are very serious, especially for persons who have been found guilty of the infraction more than one time. While first-time offenders often face heavy fines, probation, and other penalties, persons who are found guilty of DWI for a second time often face very severe penalties that can seriously limit their personal freedoms.

It is important for all drivers to be aware of the rules of responsible alcohol consumption and not operate their vehicle if they are intoxicated. Failure to obey the rules regarding drinking and driving may result in arrest, incarceration, and DWI/DUI charges. For more information on DWI charges in Texas, contact Dallas DWI lawyer Mark T. Lassiter at (214) 845-7007 today.

Consequences of a 2nd DWI Offense

If you have been arrested on suspicion of DWI for a second time in the state of Texas, you may face:

  • Fines not to exceed $4,000
  • Confinement in county jail for a period of not less than 72 hours and not more than 1 year
  • At least 80 hours of community service
  • Installation of a deep-lung air device in the person’s vehicle to measure the driver’s blood-alcohol level (BAC) before the vehicle will start

In the event of a second DWI offense, the court will typically require that a deep-lung air device be installed in the person’s vehicle during the entirety of the individual’s probation.

Contact Us

If you or someone you love is facing DWI charges for a second offense, contact Dallas DWI lawyer Mark T. Lassiter at (214) 845-7007 to discuss your case.


Our iPhone App Our Android App
Confidential Free Case Evaluation
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.