Dallas DUI Lawyer

Driving Under the Influence (DUI) is an offense that Texas law has created just for drivers under the age of 21. Unlike a Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) offense, you do not have to have a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of over .08 in order to be charged with this crime. Because the drinking age in Texas is 21, it is illegal for anyone under that age to drive with any amount of alcohol in their system at all.

Penalties for DUI

If you are under 21, the first time you are caught driving with a BAC between 0.01 and .08, you could face the following penalties:

  • 60-day driver ‘s license suspension
  • up to a $500 fine
  • 20 to 40 hours of community service
  • mandatory attendance in alcohol-awareness classes

The penalties become worse with every repeat offense. You could have your license suspended for up to 180 days after your second or third offense.

If an underage driver has a BAC of .08 or higher, the penalties become much more severe, because that person is legally driving while drunk. For a person between the ages of 17 and 21, these penalties for a first time offense can include

  • up to a $2,000 fine
  • 72 hours to 180 days in jail
  • driver ‘s license suspension of 90 days to one year

Again, the penalties increase with each repeat offense.

Contact Us

A DUI conviction can follow you for the rest of your life. If you or a loved one is a minor accused of drunk driving, you will need a committed and knowledgeable attorney to secure the best outcome your trial can have. Contact Dallas DWI attorney Mark Lassiter at (214) 845-7007.


Our iPhone App Our Android App
Confidential Free Case Evaluation
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.