Grand Prairie DUI lawyer

In Texas, driving under the influence, or DUI, is a crime that is related to the consumption of alcohol by minors. The crime is committed when a minor, someone under 21, drives after operating a motor vehicle in a public space after consuming alcohol to the point that it is at all detectable. Minors do not have to be over the legal limit to be charged with a DUI. This is because Texas has adopted a Zero Tolerance policy on all things concerning alcohol and minors. This policy has effectively brought to an end the days of an officer merely calling the minor ‘s parents.

Admitting to having consumed any amount of alcohol gives the police officer all of the proof he needs to hand down a charge for a DUI. A DUI is a Class C misdemeanor that carries a penalty of a fine not to exceed $500.00. With the third DUI conviction, the penalty increases drastically. The fine for a third DUI conviction is not less than $500 and can be as high as $2,000. In addition, a jail sentence of up to 6 months can be imposed.

The Department of Public Safety also suspends an individual ‘s license. Following the first offense, the license is suspended for 6 months. The second offense yields a 4 month suspension and the third offense goes back to 6 months.

The Department of Public Safety also suspends an individual ‘s license. Following the first offense, the license is suspended for 6 months. The second offense yields a 4 month suspension and the third offense goes back to 6 months.

If you have been charged with driving under the influence, contact a DUI attorney in Grand Prairie at the Law Office of Mark T. Lassiter. His experience will help you win your case and keep your good name.


Our iPhone App Our Android App
Confidential Free Case Evaluation
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.