Plano MIP lawyer

Minor in Possession of alcohol, also known as an MIP, is technically classified as a class C misdemeanor in the state of Texas.This means a minor will be ticketed by either a police officer or by a TABC officer for being under 21 and in possession.

If you are a minor and planning on going to a party, nightclub, or being in a car where alcohol might be present, you have the chance to be cited for an MIP, regardless if you were actually the owner or not. A minor is only allowed to be around some type of alcohol if they don ‘t touch the alcohol in any form. If the minor has any contact with the alcohol they can be cited with an MIP immediately.

The other type of possession is technically defined as constructive possession. Constructive possession is when a person doesn’t technically have possession of the alcohol but has the option to control the object or alcohol. This situation actually can arise at a table where a number of people are sharing alcohol. In this situation, the minor is able to access the alcohol but doesn’t have direct possession of it.

An MIP is considered a class C misdemeanor and has some severe consequences. You could possibly be sentenced with a fine between $250 and $2,000, depending on the situation. You could also receive jail time up to 180 days, along with some type of community service. In Texas, you could face different amounts of community service depending on the judge and the severity of your situation. If you already have your license, you could have it suspended or even revoked until you turn 18. The punishments that the judge could assign you can vary depending on the situation you were involved in.

If you or someone you know has received an MIP, you should contact Plano MIP Lawyer Mark Lassiter at (214) 845-7007. He will be able to help you with all aspects of your alcohol-related case.


Our iPhone App Our Android App
Confidential Free Case Evaluation
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.